ingredient information
Sodium Caseinate
AAA
Sodium Caseinate Sodium Caseinate is a modified protein extracted from milk. It has no odor or taste and is used as a thickening and whitening agent in dairy products. The protein component utilizes emulsification, water absorption, gelling, and stabilization properties. It is used in dairy non-creamers to act as a creamy, white dairy substitute without the lactose that people who are lactose-intolerant cannot digest. Because of its large difference between the “milk derivative� that is sodium caseinate and real cream or milk, it is considered non-dairy. There is controversy whether sodium caseinate still has all the nutritional benefits that milk has because it is non-dairy. It is also a source of free glutamic acid. See monosodium glutamate (MSG). "CASEIN, AMMONIUM CASEINATE, CALCIUM CASEINATE, POTASSIUM CASEINATE, SODIUM CASEINATE - FOOD RESOURCE - OREGON STATE UNIVERSITY." Food Science, Cultural Foods, Glossary, Training, Education Food Resource [http://food.oregonstate.edu/], Oregon State University, Corvallis, OR. Web. 16 May 2011. . "Food Additives ~ CSPI’s Food Safety." Center for Science in the Public Interest. Web. 16 May 2011. . "Products Page." Casein & Caseinates/Prestige Proteins -- Your One Stop Global Source for Casein & Caseinates. Web. 16 May 2011. . "Vegetarians in Paradise/ Non-dairy Creamers/ Non Dairy Coffee Creamers/Sodium Caseinate." Vegetarians in Paradise Vegetarian/Vegan Los Angeles Internet Magazine. 1 Jan. 2003. Web. 16 May 2011. .