ingredient information
Flour White Spelt
Spelt (Triticum spelta) was an important wheat species in parts of Europe from the Bronze Age to medieval times. It now survives as a relict crop in Central Europe, but has found a new market as a health food. Spelt is sometimes considered a subspecies of the closely related species common wheat (T. aestivum), in which case its botanical name is considered to be Triticum aestivum subsp. spelta. Spelt contains about 62 percent carbohydrates, 9.2 percent fibre , 17 percent protein and 2.7 percent fat, as well as dietary minerals and vitamins, including silica. As it contains a moderate amount of gluten, it is suitable for baking. In Germany, the unripe spelt grains are dried and eaten as Grünkern, which literally means "green seed". Spelt is closely related to common wheat, and is not usually a suitable substitute for people with coeliac disease and wheat allergy. However, spelt is sometimes used as an alternative grain for sufferers of wheat intolerance and mild gluten intolerance